Air: A short story

Salihah Clayton
3 min readFeb 16, 2021

I found that the winds tend to define us in our lifespan. There are many references to wind in analogy to freedom, spirit, relaxation and even disaster. Many underestimate this element, or if you would for the logical thinkers, a phenomena that comes from the result of the earth turning on its axis and the uneven heating of the sun and earth. Temperature itself seems to be the cause of wind, and yet at rest air is still and holds many elements in its make-up. I find air to be breezes. I love the soft breeze that carries with it warmth on a moderate hot day. As a child I would imagine myself in a field with a dress that colored pink, white and a light blue, with sleeves that connected to the dress but left my back bare. The front would be completely covered with three gaped stripes across my clavicles. I adore open spaces, because it allows the air to move freely and there are nothing to stop the flow. I realize having mountains or hills around will change the course of the air flow, but as long as it is an open space, I feel surprisingly safe and comfortable to lie down and relax myself. I would have my bare feet touch the ground, never wear any shoes and just curl my toes in the grass; especially during spring.

I love the season of spring because that is when the air and wind is pristine. The perfect temperature of warmth and cold, with new things blooming forth. I feel the air dance around everyone as they go about their day. Air has a sense of personality and self. It touches all of us each day and I can see how it engulfs each person like a gentle hug. Air is such a…

--

--